Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Begin Your Library Search
Everything – searches across our subscription databases and finds you the most results (note: already limited to full text and peer reviewed) - search by keyword, title, or author
Journals – searches for peer-reviewed journals across our subscription databases - search by keyword, title, or author (allows you to "browse" issues - note: some titles do not have full runs so check the record to see what is available in full text)
Databases – provides a dropdown menu of our databases by title for easy access to a specific one. Click View More Results to see an alphabetical list of databases with descriptions and access links
Ebooks – searches for ebooks across our subscription databases - search by keyword, title, or author
Please contact the Carrington College Librarian (firstname.lastname@example.org) with any questions or if you need help
Resources for Medical Administrative Assistant and Medical Assisting
Anatomy.tv Anatomy.tv is the most accurate and detailed 3D anatomy resource available.
CINAHL Plus® with Full Text CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937. For a video tutorial, please copy and paste this link into your browser: https://connect.ebsco.com/s/article/CINAHL-Databases-Basic-Searching-Tutorial?language=en_US
Dynamed DynaMed is the clinical reference tool that clinicians go to for answers. Look to DynaMed for the most current, evidence-based information available.
Made Incredibly Easy! LWW Health Library: Made Incredibly Easy! provides a digital learning tool for nurses at the BSN/RN-level in academic and hospital settings that will aid in their learning experience by providing access to texts designed to enhance their understanding of essential topics as well as prepare them for clinical rotations.
MEDLINE with Full Text MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, nearly 1,450 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. And of those, 558 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection.
Assessing and Treating Youth Exposed to Traumatic Stress by Assessing and Treating Youth Exposed to Traumatic Stress is a cogent, caring, and comprehensive response to the reality that many children live lives of constant threat, fear, and confusion while lacking opportunities for positive social interactions, stimulation, and empowerment. Although the book is written for mental health clinicians, teachers and others who support traumatized youth will find this book an essential addition to their professional libraries. Identifying these children is the first step, and the importance of careful assessment through use of the clinical interview -- in both individual and group settings -- is emphasized. In addition, the population with posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) is highly diverse in terms of presentation and target symptoms, and the book explores differences in type, duration, and accumulation of trauma; age of insult; stress vulnerability; family history; and other individual factors. Nearly a dozen of treatment options are presented in the book, and they are distinguished by setting, such as clinic, home, or school, and modality, such as psychotherapy or pharmacology. Attention is also paid to preventive measures, most of which are school- or group-based, to increase resiliency where possible. The book addresses critically important issues in treating young people with PTSD in chapters that are articulate, accessible, and actionable: * Because PTSD rarely exists alone, suggestions on how to manage the challenging issues surrounding common comorbidities, such as mood and anxiety disorders, are examined in depth. Even when individuals do not meet the full clinical criteria for PTSD, elevated rates of mood and anxiety disorders have been identified.* A separate posttraumatic diagnosis for preschool children was introduced in DSM-5, and the book highlights the special sensitivity and careful questioning necessary to elicit detailed histories and contextualize trauma in the very young because of their limited vocabulary and concrete thinking.* Although psychosocial treatments are the first line of intervention when treating youth with PTSD symptoms, there is a role for pharmacological treatment, and a separate chapter is devoted to the use of medications. * Whenever appropriate, the chapters take a developmental approach to illustrate how treatment techniques are applied to preschoolers, school-age children, adolescents, and transitional-age youth.* In today's era of mass shootings and natural disasters, there is great need for effective interventions for large groups of young people. The chapters on school-based assessment and interventions present information on screening; disaster prevention, response, and recovery programs; and evidence-based targeted trauma intervention across developmental levels. The editor, Director of the Stanford University Early Life Stress Research Program in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, has assembled a list of contributors who are at the forefront of clinical research in this important area of focus, and Assessing and Treating Youth Exposed to Traumatic Stress reflects the authors' belief that society, as a whole, must ensure that children who face adversity have the opportunity to develop to their full potential.
Publication Date: 2018-12-16
How to Present Negative Medical News in a Positive Light by In a 2009 Gallup poll, 30 percent of Americans surveyed believed that the national health care industry offers less-than-good quality of care for its citizens. But you can change how your patients perceive your own services, starting with how you and your staff deliver sensitive news. With this step-by-step guide, you will learn exactly how to talk to any patient or their family about even the worst of news. Like so many other aspects of the medical field, there is a science behind how to deliver negative news to your patients, and How to Present Negative News in a Positive Light will teach you the best methods of handling delicate and critical situations. Using this book as your guide, you can help nurture the delicate and valuable relationship that everyone in the health care field must form with their patients, even in times of high stress and negative news. Visiting a clinic is stressful enough for your patient, but with this research-backed book, you will learn how to ease the excess worries of your clients. You will learn the psychology behind your patient's state of mind to ensure that any bad news you communicate is tailored effectively for his or her situation. You will learn not to overlook the details that many health care providers might not notice, such as your clinic's environment, atmosphere, and employees, and will see how every detail can impact your patient's comfort. In this detailed book, you will gain knowledge on topics ranging from medical ethics to the legalities of delivering news to a patient's friends and family, as well as how to share this information among your staff. You will learn how to cope with religious or cultural issues that may arise with sensitive medical news, and you will learn how to avoid negative repercussions that could reflect poorly on you and your clinic. With How to Present Negative News in a Positive Light, you will understand how to articulate the best verbal structure possible for any and all bad news, as well as how to project your body language to ensure that a bad diagnosis is delivered in the most positive light possible. Have you ever presented a diagnosis to a patient without giving thought to how your hands were positioned? Were you unaware of your posture and level of eye contact? If you weren't keeping your hands open, your posture tall, and your gaze steady, your patient's reaction may have been worse than it had to be. This book will explain the vast importance of these subtle gestures. You will learn how to avoid saying too much or too little, and learn how to recognize what your patient needs to hear from you immediately following any bad news. Even the worst of news can be presented in an uplifting and positive manner -- this book will teach you how. Packed with real-life examples of doctors, nurses, and patients who know first-hand the best and worst ways of delivering bad news in the health care setting, this book will become a daily go-to resource at your clinic. In this book, you will read about what has worked in real life from health care providers who are willing to share their experiences in order that you can learn from their personal trials. You can turn pessimism into optimism and keep your patients happy and loyal -- even in times of extreme hardship.
Publication Date: 2017-01-23
Transforming Healthcare Through Innovation in Digital Health by The term Telehealth covers a wide spectrum of disciplines, ranging from the enabling of direct clinical interventions to patient-centered care needs such as personal monitoring and care team support, as well as education, policy and professional aspects. Contributing to the solving of healthcare sustainability challenges and supporting the development and delivery of a wide range of innovative care and treatment models, Telehealth also acts as a major driver for change in global health issues. This book, Transforming Healthcare Through Innovation in Digital Health, presents the accepted full-paper, double-blinded, peer-reviewed contributions, as well as the editor-reviewed invited keynote papers, delivered at the 7th International Conference on Global Telehealth (GT2018), held in Colombo, Sri Lanka, on 10 and 11 October 2018. Approximately 50% of the total initial submissions were accepted. The conference provided a platform for the sharing of best practice and research directions across the international Telehealth community, and the 14 papers presented here deal with a variety of themes ranging from data collection and analysis to the design of interventions and delivery mechanisms, in situations from public health and primary care through to consumer health informatics, and from implementation and algorithm design to privacy and ethical considerations. Offering an overview of the innovation and diversity of today's Telehealth domain, this book will be of interest to all those involved in the design and implementation of healthcare solutions.
Publication Date: 2018-10-18
APA Format Resources
These resources are available to assist students in using APA format for papers and other assignments